ESRA
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Login

Contacts
Chairman: Terje Aven
terje.aven@uis.no

Vice-Chairman: Radim Bris
radim.bris@vsb.cz

General Secretary:
Coen van Gulijk
c.vangulijk@tudelft.nl
European Safety and Reliability Association

ESRA Technical Committee on
Structural Reliability

Structural reliability has been and still is an important subject of research but many challenging applications are also still awaiting completion. Applications cover many fields such as the structures in the civil engineering area, in maritime and aeronautical engineering and others. Characteristic is the multidimensionality of the uncertainties which makes computation of reliabilities or other quantities complex and time-consuming. Monte Carlo methods and the so-called first- and/or second- order reliability method are being applied in time-invariant reliability problems. The treatment of time-invariant reliability problems still is under development mainly due to the present non-availability of suitable general stochastic models for time-variant phenomena.

In general, rigorous analysis is too complex in practical application and simplifications must sought, such as in European system of codes. But for important structures the Eurocode system even requires a full quantitative or qualitative analysis, including a systematic survey of the hazards, a development of load and resistance models, structural analysis and quantification of the possible consequences. In this context reliability-oriented optimisation methods are being developed in order to make structures optimal with respect to performance requirements, weight or costs and benefits. Reliability methods must be integrated into the whole spectrum of design, operation rules and maintenance and they are essential when fulfilling the sustainability requirements.

Chairman
  Jana Markova, jana.markova@klok.cvut.cz

Committee Members
  C. Bucher, Technical University Vienna - Austria, christian.bucher@tuwien.ac.at
  M. Faber, ETHZ - Switzerland, faber@ibk.baug.ethz.ch
  R. Straub, Univ. of California - USA, straub@berkeley.edu
  M. Holicky, Czech Technical University - Czech Republic, holicky@vc.cvut.cz
  R. Rackwitz, TUM - Germany, rackwitz@mb.bv.tum.de
  B. Sudret, EDF - France, bruno.sudret@edf.fr
  P. Tanner, Instituto Eduardo Torroja - Spain, tannerp@ietcc.csic.es
  A. Teixeira, IST - Portugal, teixeira@mar.ist.utl.pt
  P. Waarts, TNO - The Netherlands, paul.waarts@tno.nl
News
ESREL 2016
European Safety and Reliability Conference
Strathclyde University, Glasgow
September 25 - 29, 2016
ESREL 2015
XXV European Safety and Reliability Conference
Zurich, Switzerland
September 7 - 10, 2015

Help
Forgot your password?
Receive your logon information by email.

Website Support
Send your feedback to us.
Home | Objectives| Login
2004 ESRA
Optimized for Internet Explorer 5+, Netscape 7+, Mozilla 1.4+ and Opera 7+