ESRA
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Login

Contacts
Chairman: Terje Aven
terje.aven@uis.no

Vice-Chairman: Radim Bris
radim.bris@vsb.cz

General Secretary:
Coen van Gulijk
c.vangulijk@tudelft.nl
European Safety and Reliability Association

ESRA Technical Committee on
Occupational Safety

The prevention of occupational accidents is a very essential task for the society. In 2000, there were 5200 fatal accidents at work in the EU, and around 5 million accidents with more than three days of absence from work. Occupational safety has a more than 100 years old tradition of accident prevention, both in legislation and research.

The aim of this committee is to contribute to the exchange of experiences between the tradition of the management of occupational safety, with methodology of systems safety approaches. Both traditions can benefit from each other. Occupational accidents are common, and they occur in all types of systems and organisations. This mean a different type of challenge compared to when the safety should be controlled in a well defined technical system and focused on clear situations.

When different traditions can meet, there are better opportunities for the integration of occupational safety aspects with design of production systems, software, and the management of other types of risks and hazards. Interested persons are very welcome to join the group.

Chairman
 • Ben Ale, b.j.m.ale@tudelft.nl

Committee Members
 • Celeste Jacinto, New University of Lisbon - Portugal, mcj@fct.unl.pt
 • Daniel Podgórski, Central Institute for Labour Protection - Poland, dapod@ciop.pl
 • Nijs Jan Duijm, Risø National Laboratory - Denmark, nijs.j.duijm@risoe.dk
 • Trygve Steiro, SINTEF Technology and Society - Norway, trygve.Steiro@sintef.no
 • Veikko Rouhiainen, VTT Industrial Systems - Finland, veikko.rouhiainen@vtt.fi
News
ESREL 2016
European Safety and Reliability Conference
Strathclyde University, Glasgow
September 25 - 29, 2016
ESREL 2015
XXV European Safety and Reliability Conference
Zurich, Switzerland
September 7 - 10, 2015

Help
Forgot your password?
Receive your logon information by email.

Website Support
Send your feedback to us.
Home | Objectives| Login
© 2004 ESRA
Optimized for Internet Explorer 5+, Netscape 7+, Mozilla 1.4+ and Opera 7+